HAMPTON BOARD OF EDUCTION HAMPTON, CT 06247 SPECIAL MEETING AGENDA THURSDAY AUGUST 13, 2020 7:00 PM

ZOOM MEETING

https://zoom.us/j/97437871233?pwd=N3U3VjdvcEVzUDRXaXY1OTRGeHBxUT09

Meeting ID: 974 3787 1233 Passcode: 9KsWW9

- 1. Call to order Chairperson Roses Bisson called the meeting order at 7:02 pm. Members present Mark Becker, Maryellen Donnelly, Russ Moffitt, Juan Arriola, Neal Moon, Susan Lovegreen, Ann Gruenberg and Matthew Flegert at 7:06 pm. Also, present Superintendent Frank Olah, Principal Sam Roberson and Business Coordinator Sally Lehoux.
- 2. Audience for Staff and Citizens None
- **3. Reopening Information by Superintendent Frank Olah** Superintendent Frank Olah presented the board with the reopening plan. The board had a brief discussion on the plan.
- 4. Discussion and Possible Action on the Final Approval of the 2020-2021 Academic Calendar Mark Becker moved to approve the 2020-2021 Option one calendar with 183 days. Susan Lovegreen seconded. The board discussed the calendar. Mark Becker rescinded his motion and Susan Lovegreen rescinded her second. Mark Becker moved to approve an updated 2020-2021 Academic calendar with students first day being September 2, 2020 and still having 183 days. Susan Lovegreen seconded, and the motion passed with the following vote: Yes: Mark Becker, Ann Gruenberg, Susan Lovegreen, Maryellen Donnelly, Matthew Flegert, Juan Arriola, Neal Moon and Russ Moffitt.
- 5. Budget The board discussed the budget as presented and directed that the technologist be added to the budget, the speech and language personnel be included and where the funds from the Principal's salary reduction being transferred to. Mark Becker moved to approve the budget as presented to include a technologist, as well as a speech and linguist position with the bottom-line totaling \$2,104,318.00. Ann Gruenberg seconded and the motion passed with the following vote: Yes: Mark Becker, Ann Gruenberg, Susan Lovegreen, Maryellen Donnelly, Matthew Flegert, Neal Moon and Russ Moffitt. Abstain: Juan Arriola
- 6. Adjournment Juan Arriola moved to adjourn at 8:22pm. Ann Gruenberg seconded and the motion passed with the following vote: Yes: Mark Becker, Ann Gruenberg, Susan Lovegreen, Maryellen Donnelly, Matthew Flegert, Juan Arriola, Neal Moon and Russ Moffitt.

Respectfully Submitted: Rachel Linkkila 8-17-2020